Necrophobic – In The Twilight Grey

For those who have remained Satanic, Necrophobic have baked a new cookie. It’s called In The Twilight Grey and it is album number ten. You cannot have missed this death/black metalband from Sweden if you are somewhat familiar with the genre. In 1989, founding members Blackmoon and Joakim Sterner looked deep into each other’s eyes and thought, “Wanna fuck or start a band?” It was the latter. The band currently has a fairly stable line-up since 2016. According to the band you can expect classic songs but also gems of “solemn gloom” on the new one.

Let me be clear right from the start: you really need to take the time listen to this album. It is a colorful collection of tracks that range from atmospheric black metal to the typical catchy Necrophobic fist-pump songs. This album was made with love for the profession and love for the music. You hear a band that wants to deliver quality and sets the bar high. On the other hand: it is an album that is traditional and builds on proven riffs and ideas.

Opening track Grace Of The Past already shows that the men are in no way new to the game. A symphonic prelude is the start of a devilish mad ride. It’s a classic track for the band with a surprisingly evil chorus. Clavis Inferni has more thrash beats and contains daring soloing. As Stars Collide is a certain highlight with references to Dissection. The falling notes are turned up extra loud to increase the dramatic effect. Stormcrow borrows its density of notes and vocal rhythms in the chorus of Hail Murder by fellow countrymen Dark Funeral. Nordanvind is the most elaborate song on the album with more atmospheric influences. Unfortunately, it’s not very surprising. The title track however does provide the epic build-up you hope to hear. The lead is arctic cold and melancholic. A worthy icing on the cake, but even with 7:54 minutes on the clock it’s too short for me!

The mix is ​​spatial, sometimes perhaps a bit too rigorous. The downside, for example, is that the hi-hat during Mirrors Of A Thousand Lakes can make you crazy. Or that in the bridge before for the solo the guitar is moved from the right to the middle in two steps to start the solo. As far as I’m concerned it’s all a bit sterile. It is however a track that is brilliantly put together. First you get an exciting build-up to the incredibly catchy chorus where you get a beautiful reverberating lead. As if you weren’t fed yet, Necrophobic serves up a morbidly complex guitar solo. After a short whammy bar the track picks up the thrash beats again. As a final bite, you swallow that chorus again. Enjoy! I started off criticizing the mix, but lo and behold, by the end of the track I’m back on my knees in worship.

Of course you want a conclusion at the end of this review. In Twilight Gray is a strong album. One that let times speed you by with pleasure and ease. Maybe a little less heavy and intense than Dawn Of The Damned. In comparison, I would say that the band plays more tolerant of its own style and has taken a more relaxed approach. Nevertheless, it is a certainty for the annual list. The fact that the band is still expanding and refining its own creative spectrum is admirable. The best part is the level of both songwriting and creativity that Necrophobic manages to maintain throughout. The album is surprisingly diverse and has enough depth to listen to several times. If you have never tasted Necrophobic before, you can take your first bite at it In The Twilight Gray.




Century Media Records, 2024


  1. Grace Of The Past
  2. Clavis Inferni
  3. As Stars Collide
  4. Stormcrow
  5. Shadows Of The Brightest Night
  6. Mirrors Of A Thousand Lakes
  7. Cast In Stone
  8. Nordanvind
  9. In The Twilight Grey
  10. Ascension (Episode Four)


  • Joakim Sterner – Drums
  • Anders Strokirk – Vocals
  • Sebastian Ramstedt – Lead guitar
  • Johan Bergebäck – Guitar
  • Tobias Cristiansson – Bass guitar